Through Jade's Eyes

This blog is about the fictional character, Jade del Cameron (, and the historical time period in which she lives.

My Photo
Location:, United States

I'm the author of the Jade del Cameron historical mystery series set in 1920's Africa. Lots of action, intrigue, mystery and a dash of romance. Follow me at *The audio link (view complete profile) is an interview by Baron Ron Herron (9/17/2009, Santa Barbara {CA} News-Press Radio, KZSB, AM 1290

Monday, September 22, 2008


In previous entries, it’s been noted that many peoples and cultures have had a foothold in Morocco from the original Berber tribes, Romans, and Phoenicians through Arabs, Portuguese, Spaniards, and French. When Jade entered Tangier in her 1920 adventure, The Serpent’s Daughter, she encountered a growing number of American and European tourists as well. As she went farther inland, she saw fewer non-Moroccans, excepting for French military.

Edith Wharton gives a rich account of the different Moroccan men in her book In Morocco (1920). She describes the “slippered merchant (of Fez) wrapped in white muslins and securely mounted on a broad velvet saddle-cloth anchored to the back of a broad mule” followed by “sinewy ‘saints’” and “Soudanese sorcerers hung with amulets made of sardine-boxes and hares’-feet.” Ms. Wharton writes of “university students carrying their prayer carpets,” and “blind men tapping along with linked arms and howling out verses of the Koran.”

She contrasts these with the hill-people during an open market day. These Berber men, she described as “lean and weather-bitten...all muscular and fierce-looking....The men of the Rif had a braided lock on the shoulder, those of the Atlas a ringlet over each ear.”

This is the world that Jade entered as she tried to locate her kidnapped mother. But it was from the women that she received her greatest assistance.


NOTE: These blogs are meant to give some insight into the life and times of my fictional character, Jade del Cameron. Jade’s mystery adventures take place in post WWI Africa. To date they are: Mark of the Lion, Stalking Ivory, and The Serpent’s Daughter (available in paperback October 7, 2008). The fourth book The Leopard’s Prey, will be available in hardcover January 2009. For more information, visit the website:

Labels: , , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home