Through Jade's Eyes

This blog is about the fictional character, Jade del Cameron (, and the historical time period in which she lives.

My Photo
Location:, United States

I'm the author of the Jade del Cameron historical mystery series set in 1920's Africa. Lots of action, intrigue, mystery and a dash of romance. Follow me at *The audio link (view complete profile) is an interview by Baron Ron Herron (9/17/2009, Santa Barbara {CA} News-Press Radio, KZSB, AM 1290

Monday, August 04, 2008


The Great Atlas Mountains loom on the southern horizon from Marrakech. They are a blessing for the city, for it is their snow melt that supplies the ‘red city’ with water for its beautiful gardens, its fountains, the palmeries, and for life. But the gift is rather like a bribe. Take the water, but stay away. And so the Great Atlas, with its sheer cliffs, challenging paths, and frigid winters became a refuge for the Berber tribes fleeing from invaders.

In 1922, C.E. Andrews published an account of his journey into these mountains. Old Morocco and the Forbidden Atlas is a wonderful account of his trip and the people he met. At that time, the French Protectorate didn’t extent into the Atlas mountains. It ended at the northern foothills, not far from Marrakech. So when Jade and her mother traveled up into the mountains in her 1920 adventure, The Serpent’s Daughter, it was without protection from anyone but her Berber guides, much as it was for Mr. Andrews.

According to various geological articles, the Atlas grew in pre-history (65 million to ~1.8 million years ago) during a time when Africa and Europe converged. Such collisions push and fold rock, forcing them up into huge chains. With the Atlas, ocean sediments from the age of the dinosaurs (Mesozoic era) and older were folded and faulted into jagged peaks with sloping layers like a slanted cake.

In some spots, many oceanic fossils are visible.


NOTE: These blogs are meant to give some insight into the life and times of my fictional character, Jade del Cameron. Jade’s mystery adventures take place in post WWI Africa. To date they are: Mark of the Lion, Stalking Ivory, and The Serpent’s Daughter. The fourth book The Leopard’s Prey, will be available in hardcover January 2009. For more information, visit the website:

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home